In ancient times, there were big meadows at the site of the modern resort. So, many people thought that Livadia got its name exactly because of its relief, as the Greek word “livadion” means “lawn, meadow”. The territory of Livadia had long been settled, which is proved by the remains of the settlements of the Copper Age found by archeologists near Oreanda. They date back to the 3rd century BC. The researchers also found the remains of the Taurus settlement and the burial site near it that date back to the 1st century BC. The remains of pottery found here and the medieval settlement with the burial site and the cathedral confirm the fact that people lived here in the 8th-9th centuries.
The ruins of the feudal castle found on Mount Hachla Kayasy that date back to the 10th-11th centuries have survived to this day. In the 18th century, there was a small Greek settlement at the site of present Livadia. It was called Ay Yan after St. John. Upon the order of the king, its residents moved to the Azov Governorate in the second half of the 18th century.
In 1834, Livadia was bought by a Polish tycoon, count Lev Pototsky. At the end of the 30s, he put up the vineyard here. In 1860, his square was almost 19 hectares. Wine has started being produced since that time. Also, the big wine cellar for storing wines was built. Over two thousand buckets and four thousand buckets of wine were produced in 1848 and 1853 respectively. At that time, a church, two manor houses, outbuildings and residential buildings were constructed here. In 1859, there were thirty palaces in Livadia where about 150 people lived. Livadia was constantly expanding. It turned from a small village to a beautiful city that today attracts inquisitive tourists with its beauty and cultural wealth.
The irreplaceable symbol of the historical resort is the Livadia Palace. It was built in 1834 upon the order of the emperor Nicholas II. For the years of its existence, this wonderful palace has been rebuilt for many times. It was destroyed completely in 1909. Then, it was restored in accordance with the first projects. After the Revolution of 1917, the prestigious sanatorium was opened in 1917 and only high politicians could vacation here. Today, the palace serves as the Museum of Architecture. Everyone can admire its luxurious interior and walk through the garden surrounding the palace.
The Livadia Park is considered as an independent attraction. Today, it occupies almost 40 hectares. The park is thoroughly cared for. Over 400 plant species are presented here. In the park, you can walk along beautiful oleander alleys and see evergreen bushes and trees that are typical for local nature. Not so long ago, over 7 000 rosebushes were planted in the territory of the park. It is very interesting to visit the park during the blooming period.
Several years ago, the Inverted House was opened in Livadia. It is a small house turned upside down. In this unusual house, all pieces of furniture are turned upside down. Every day, this unusual attraction is visited by curious tourists who want to take spectacular pictures.
In Livadia, there are a lot of unique nature attractions, among which the wonderful waterfall Uchan Su is worth being mentioned. It is the highest waterfall on the Crimean peninsula. It is 390 m high. The waterfall is “fed” by glaciers, so it reaches its greatness in the spring. It is located in a very beautiful mountainous. Hiking tour to the waterfall may turn into an unforgettable adventure. Diving fans will have an opportunity to see the unique sea attraction. There is the tug “Baikal” lying in the coastal waters. It sank here during the storm in 1969 and still lies on the sea bottom.